• The RNDM
  • Posts
  • An Idea From Wing Chun That Changed How I Learn:

An Idea From Wing Chun That Changed How I Learn:

Welcome back to another issue of Marginal Gains

This week i’m sharing an idea from Wing Chun that changed how I tackle learning:

Detachment from the outcome.

Get comfortable with being detached from the outcome.

When you're focused on the outcome:

  • You rush

  • You don't enjoy it

  • You become frustrated

And you ultimately become disheartened when you're not progressing as fast as you want.

When we water a plant, we don't expect it to grow straight away. 

So why then do we expect to see results straight away when we're learning.

I've made the mistake in the past of becoming disheartened when I'm not seeing results when I expect them.

But Wing Chun has taught me to detach from the outcome.

Detachment from the outcome makes you more focused on the process. It makes you present in the process.

When you're focused and present on the process:

  • You take your time

  • You develop deep understanding

  • You stay motivated and consistent

Ultimately, Detachment from the outcome is a practice in humility. 

Reminding us that the pursuit of knowledge is a lifelong endeavor.

Not a sprint toward a finish line.

If you're enjoying the newsletter, please help us grow by sharing it with a friend.

Thank you for being a part of the Marginal Gains community.

Each week I share 1 small tip every Sunday.

If you want to read more, then check out the latest issue here

Until next week,

Stay Thriving,

Shoaib.