• The RNDM
  • Posts
  • Here's Why Accountability Is A Good Thing

Here's Why Accountability Is A Good Thing

Welcome back to another issue of Marginal Gains

This week I'm sharing an idea from the book "The 12 Week Year":

For years I thought accountability was something bad.

Something that happened when you messed up.

After I read this sentence, from the book "The 12 Week Year", I realised I was wrong:

“Accountability is not consequences; it’s ownership.”

This sentence hit me deep.

It changed my understanding of accountability.

Here's how I now understand accountability:

Accountability empowers you.

When you become accountable for your actions, you gain a sense of control.

You stop behaving like a victim. You stop letting life happen to you.

Becoming accountable helps you take agency.

It makes you take action.

It makes you take responsibility.

The moment you take responsibility you start to understand that it's on you to grow and become the best version of yourself.

To not settle.

To work towards achieving your full potential.

Where do you need to take more accountability in your life?

If you're enjoying the newsletter, please help us grow by sharing it with a friend.

Thank you for being a part of the Marginal Gains community.

Every Sunday I share small simple tips to help you become your best self.

Want to read more?

Check out our previous issues here

Until next week,

Stay Thriving,

Shoaib.