• The RNDM
  • Posts
  • 5 Simple Ways to Make Your Breaks More Refreshing (According to Reddit)

5 Simple Ways to Make Your Breaks More Refreshing (According to Reddit)

The timer hits zero and and starts flashing, demanding attention.

Time for a break. To rest and recharge.

Well, that's what the plan was.

But 8 minutes later and I'm falling down a Tik Tok rabbit hole. Instead of recharging, I'm having a break that's breaking my focus. Making it worse than it was before I started my break.

That's when the thought hits me.

I need to find rests that recharge me. So I did what any sane person should do.

I did some Reddit research to find ways to have better breaks.

Here's the top 5 I found:

1.Stretch

Since changing to a more sedentary job, this is something I need to do more often otherwise I get back pain.

I've definitely found my focus is better once I've done a minute or two of stretching.

If you're looking for ideas on quick stretches you can do, just search desk stretches on YouTube.

2.Read

I've got the Kindle app on my phone so, for the last few days, every time I have a break I've been reading a few pages of my current book.

It certainly helps recharge me for another focus session. I'll definitely be doing this more regularly on breaks.

3.Drawing/Doodling/Creative Writing

I've never tried this one before but can see how it might help your brain switch off from work and recharge.

Has anyone else tried this before? Let me know in the comments.

4.Meditation and Deep Breathing

Meditation is something I've tried before that helps refresh you. I'll close my eyes and focus on my breathing for 1 minute. When I open my eyes I feel refreshed and ready for another focus session.

I'm planning on doing 1 minute of meditation or breathing at the end of my breaks to help recharge me for the next bout of work.

5.Walk

A 2 minute walk always seems to refresh me. But the problem is I never do it enough. I'm planning to add this into my recharge breaks.

With all this in mind…

I'm planning to alternate between one of these every time I'm taking a break.

Here's a quick recap on Reddit’s advice on refreshing breaks:

  1. Stretch

  2. Read a bit

  3. Doodle or write

  4. Meditate for a minute

  5. Take a short walk

Mix 'em up to stay fresh and focused!

What do you do in your breaks to recharge?

Let me know!

If you're enjoying the newsletter, please help us grow by sharing it with a friend.

Thank you for being a part of the Marginal Gains community.

Every Sunday I share small simple tips to help you become your best self.

Want to read more?

Check out our previous issues here.

Until next week.

Stay Thriving.

Shoaib